red skinny jeans.

So last fall, when colored skinny jeans were all the rage, I bought a pair of red skinny jeans.

Up until today, I’ve never been brave enough to wear them.

That sounds so stupid, right? Being scared of wearing skinny jeans?

But I was.

Let me explain.

I’ve never been someone who was outgoing with her fashion choices. I wore a t-shirt and mom jeans. That was about it.

As I grew older and became more concerned with what people thought of me, I just stuck with jeans and a t-shirt because I didn’t want to try anything new and have people think I looked weird.

I know this all probably sounds really strange, and looking back on it, it was.

But when you’re a 13 year old girl who’s insecure and terrified about what people thought of her, wearing something as …’daring’ as red skinny jeans is a huge deal.

As you’re probably figuring out, this story isn’t just about my skinny jeans. It’s about my confidence. *plot twist* 😉

I’ve always thought of myself as too tall.

Too fat.

Too awkward.

Too loud.

Too ugly.

As I study the Bible more and grow in Him, I’m starting to realize that I’m more than my weight or height or clothes.

I am HIS.

I am precious and loved and valued. I also have a pair of red skinny jeans that I happen to like. And even if someone doesn’t like them (which I doubt would happen because they’re cute :P) it doesn’t matter. Because my hope isn’t in what other people think. It’s in Him.

So now, wearing something like a pair of red skinny jeans doesn’t seem that daunting any more.

This morning on my 15th birthday, I finally felt at peace with myself.

And it was wonderful.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to red skinny jeans.

  1. Madison says:

    can’t wait to see a pic of them fiery jeans

  2. Shayla says:

    What a material off un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious experiience on the topiic off unpredicted emotions.

Leave a comment